Even iterative solver cannot solve large number of elements?

Hi, all

I want to investigate deformation of a component due to thermal expansion. Since there are many small features in the modelled object, I got about 14 million second-order tetrahedron elements by Netgen generated by Salome. After assigning boundary condition, e.g. convective film coefficient, body flux, assigned temperature, and fixed movement etc., I ran it with various solvers, e.g. Pastix, Pardiso (from staff.tu.kielce.pl/rokach/), Iterative Cholesky, Iterative scaling. But all solvers told me “error allocating memory”. An example is as follows:

*ERROR in u_calloc: error allocating memory
variable=prestr, file=ccx_2.17.c, line=413, num=-1762920256, size=8

My workstation has 128 GB RAM.

Since I am new to CalculiX, I want to ask is it really such mesh cannot be solved by CalculiX?

I run CalculiX from PrePoMax and I tried a case with similar
boundary condition but only composed of several cubes which are joined together. It was composed of 570 thousands tetrahedron elements and can be solved with iterative Cholesky in half an hour.

By the way, I have not set any environment variable. Is it useful to let CalculiX use more memory to solve my mesh?

Extra two questions:

1. Is there free mesh tool to generate hexhedron except by sweep method? It seems the Hex_i_j_k in Salome uses sweep method and I guess my model cannot be meshed with sweep method.

2. I heard the Pardiso solver has a out-of-core mode. Is it possible my mesh be solved by that mode of Pardiso?

Thank you!

Can’t you simplify the model a bit ? Are all those small features absolutely necessary ? It’s better to avoid such huge meshes.

Try with Gmsh. Many models can be partitioned in such a way that they become sweep-mesheable. Otherwise, you have to stick with tetrahedrons since the hexa block technique is usually not available.

Give it a try: Calculix with pardiso OUT-OF-CORE mode