Welding analysis with DFLUX

Hi All,

I am trying to model welding process in transient thermal analysis. I tried with sample dflux.f downloaded from web site. The heat source is not moving but it is heating the complete weld path at the same time. Can anyone give a sample deck file and an input file to try at my end? As I am new to coding, can anyone help me how to write dflux.f file for a sample problem?

Best regards,
Brahma.

1 Like

Are you using this tool ?

https://www.researchgate.net/project/Welding-tool-for-CalculiX

1 Like

Yes, I am using this tool only. I am following the instructions shared in pdf file as well. But, the heat is being applied on the complete weld path. I did the following in a sample setup.

1. Added this in the INP file. Weld_elems include all the elements of the weld from start to end.
    *Dflux
    Weld_elems, BFNU, 1

2. Uncoupled thermal structural step is modelled as below.
    *Step, Inc=10000
    *Uncoupled temperature-displacement
    0.1, 10, 1E-05, 1

3. In dflux.f, I have referred to the first and last node numbers and two reference node numbers.

4. Compiled CCX and final ccx executable is copied to /usr/local/bin/

5. In the output file, I can see the “length of weld trajectory: 70.117255599999993”

I can share the input files for your reference. Please let me know.

I think a moving heat source requires a separate *DFLUX card for each element face, and each one has either a unique *AMPLITUDE card or a different value for its TIME DELAY parameter, so that it’s applied at the correct time. Can you check your .inp file to see if it has these features? If it’s all one big *DFLUX card, it won’t move.

1 Like

Not necessarily, the DFLUX subroutine (used here) defines the variation of heat flux in both space and time and should be sufficient to simulate moving heat source.

1 Like

@Calc_em Oh, it’s a user subroutine, sorry, I didn’t notice all that. I guess the problem is probably in that code somewhere?