Failure importing section, static mechanical analysis

Hello everyone! I am new to the CCX community but so far I love it. I’m currently working on an automated script for simulating mechanical response (simple compression test) of 3D printed lattices. I’ve been able to generate the structures in a separate software and import elements, nodes, BC’s, etc. However, I am consistently receiving the following Error when I import into PrePoMax:

“Error: Failed to import section: *SOLID SECTION, ELSET=ALL_NODES, MATERIAL=MAT_FIG4_TGH_15”

I’m assigning the material to the entire lattice, so the section is simply all elements. I’m using python to modify and compile the .inp file from the secondary software, so I thought it was an issue with my code. However, I tried creating the section from within PrePoMax, then exporting a .inp, then re-importing that same .inp and I receive the same error.

I can attach my .inp input file example if that is helpful. I appreciate any help that could be provided on this!

Can you say which software you are using for mesh preparation ? Is it Abaqus ?

I’m using nTopology, which is able to output .inp but it needs some slight modifications before using like replacing " " with “_” in certain places

1 Like

check if you can import it with cgx

Ok I’ll give it a shot, here’s a link to .inp if helpful: Lattice_07_20231005.inp - Google Drive

It might be better to prepare the geometry in nTopology, export it to STL or STEP and mesh in Gmsh for use in CalculiX.

Hi Jpel32 and welcome.
a quick note that caught my attention

ELSET=ALL_NODES

Elset is intended for elements.
¿ALL_NODES, is a set of elements or nodes?

nset not according to input deck rules, the manual reads:

First line:
• *NSET
• Enter any needed parameters and their values.
Following line if the GENERATE parameter is omitted:
• List of nodes and/or sets of nodes previously defined to be assigned to this
node set (maximum 16 entries per line).

cgx shows the error when reading.