Best workflow for beginners

I have been using freecad for some basic FEA.

I am wanting to know what the best work flow for a beginner in FEA would be?

IE

All in freecad
mesh the object in freecad, export, then use calculix
model in freecad>mesh in gmesh>solve with calculix

If its the 3rd or 2nd options, do you have any recomended videos i shoudl watch? I have searched for some but there are so many, im not sure what to filter out. Bad practice does not make perfect or as i say GIGO - garbage in garbage out : )

end goal is to have visuals, etc

Also, can calculix do cycles to failure? I might have to use fatlab for that

thanks

there is another workflow option:

model in freecad , mesh and solve with prepomax,

maybe these is for beginning best option,
starting with calculix i recommend your these example:

and these of course:

2 Likes

This prepomax, can it do FEA and CFD or is it just FEA? I am new to both : )

I have not heard of it or used it.

This might be a decent work flow. I do have openfoam installed but have not used it yet. I was going to use openfaom via the CFD workbench in freecad

thanks for the information.

It depends on what you need. Sometimes the FEM module in FreeCAD is sufficient (for simple analyses, maybe with small keyword edits). ParaView can add more postprocessing tools to that.

In many cases, you will find PrePoMax enough for your purposes. But you may need even more and then you may have to add manual keyword edits to that as well.

If you are Linux user and/or want more control with API and easy access to input deck, GraphiX and other simple preprocessing tools for CalculiX might be a good idea.

When it comes to fatigue, CalculiX only has fatigue crack propagation procedure so yes - you may want to use Fatlab. Or check Code_Aster.

1 Like

so let me ask this, are you saying i can take a solved FEA scenario in freecad, and some how put it in paraview to view the results?

When you say “keyword edits” what does that mean?