Using resulting stresses of one calculation as loads for another one?

Hello there,

I am a mechanical engineer experimenting with calculix to see if I can use it for what I have in mind and now I ran into the first mayor issue I would like to hear your opinion about:

Would it be possible to use the stresses calculated in one or more model(s) as loads in another one?

My motivation: I found a pretty nice python script on github (GitHub - calculix/beso: Python code for topology optimization using CalculiX FEM solver.) that enables me to do topology optimizations. That script runs calculix as FEM solver and I get impressive results already. The catch is that I can only do optimizations for a single load case at the moment. Do you think it would be possible to create an *.inp including multiple load cases to feed the topology optimization with?

You could use the *Initial conditions, type=stress keyword to apply predefined stresses as initial values for analysis. But you would have to find a way to convert the stress output in the dat file from the first analysis to the initial stress input for the second analysis.

Another way would be to define simulation with multiple steps (that’s common in CalculiX). With proper settings, the second step uses the results from the first one as a base state. However, I don’t know if this solution will work with that beso optimization code.

As a side note, maybe you know that already but you can use beso with FreeCAD’s GUI.

Thank you for the hint. And yes, I use the FreeCAD GUI script to start the optimization. That means that I am quite the newbie when it comes to the inp file syntax having relied on the automatically generated files however. So it will probably take me a while to read the Calculix manual and try this out. I’ll be in touch.